Nightly updates on the local news about the number of cases and deaths per county in Michigan were the inspiration for this page. I was curious if the Covid-19 cases had any kind of pattern if some areas were harder hit than others. By using the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine, I was able to retrieve "back issues"l of the state's daily report tallies which list each county's number of positive cases and Covid-19 related deaths back to March 27, 2020. In early June, the state released numbers back to March 1.

Originally I used Google Docs Spreadsheets but recording 83 counties each day quickly proved to be cumbersome. A regional approach was then tried and while it did allow for a day by day history at a regional level, it did not preserve a day by day history at county level. Because the data needed to be manually entered each evening, there was also the possiblity of errors in transcribing the data from the state's website.

As the month of May drew to a close, I began creating a smart webpage using a PHP/MySQL hybrid design that I could simply copy and paste the daily reports into, and then have automation scripts extract this data and store it into the database. This reduced the time required by me eaach evening for updating to be reduced from 15 minutes to less than 60 seconds and also allowed for far more detailed reportng.

in early June, the state changed its website which required a rewrite of my import process.

Michigan's governor divided 83 counties into 8 regions for analysis purposes. Those regions are duplicated in the link in the preceding sentence..

As of September 22, 2020, Michigan had 117,910 reported cases of Covid-19 with 6,678 associated deaths. As of September 19, 2020, 90,216 Michiganders had been reported as being recovered from Covid-19

.

Statewide Daily History

Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Sun Mar 1 14 14 0 0 ---
Mon Mar 2 27 13 0 0 ---
Tue Mar 3 49 22 0 0 ---
Wed Mar 4 73 24 0 0 ---
Thu Mar 5 99 26 0 0 ---
Fri Mar 6 141 42 0 0 ---
Sat Mar 7 189 48 0 0 ---
Sun Mar 8 252 63 0 0 ---
Mon Mar 9 376 124 0 0 ---
Tue Mar 10 531 155 0 0 ---
Wed Mar 11 732 201 0 0 ---
Thu Mar 12 1,002 270 0 0 ---
Fri Mar 13 1,362 360 0 0 ---
Sat Mar 14 1,731 369 0 0 ---
Sun Mar 15 2,196 465 0 0 ---
Mon Mar 16 2,899 703 1 1 ---
Tue Mar 17 3,672 773 1 0 ---
Wed Mar 18 4,542 870 4 3 ---
Thu Mar 19 5,292 750 9 5 ---
Fri Mar 20 6,236 944 12 3 ---
Sat Mar 21 7,024 788 20 8 ---
Sun Mar 22 7,825 801 32 12 ---
Mon Mar 23 9,042 1,217 53 21 ---
Tue Mar 24 10,126 1,084 78 25 ---
Wed Mar 25 11,293 1,167 102 24 ---
Thu Mar 26 12,426 1,133 149 47 ---
Fri Mar 27 13,711 1,285 197 48 ---
Sat Mar 28 14,755 1,044 263 66 ---
Sun Mar 29 15,654 899 325 62 ---
Mon Mar 30 17,196 1,542 403 78 ---
Tue Mar 31 18,468 1,272 514 111 ---
Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Wed Apr 1 20,001 1,533 637 123 ---
Thu Apr 2 21,100 1,099 761 124 ---
Fri Apr 3 22,272 1,172 875 114 ---
Sat Apr 4 23,249 977 986 111 ---
Sun Apr 5 24,089 840 1,095 109 ---
Mon Apr 6 25,366 1,277 1,228 133 ---
Tue Apr 7 26,347 1,103 1,373 150 ---
Wed Apr 8 27,389 1,042 1,518 145 ---
Thu Apr 9 28,347 958 1,663 145 ---
Fri Apr 10 29,358 1,011 1,819 156 ---
Sat Apr 11 30,116 758 1,973 154 432
Sun Apr 12 30,755 639 2,132 159 ---
Mon Apr 13 31,739 984 2,265 133 ---
Tue Apr 14 32,586 847 2,398 133 ---
Wed Apr 15 33,464 878 2,534 136 ---
Thu Apr 16 34,338 874 2,698 164 ---
Fri Apr 17 35,165 827 2,834 136 ---
Sat Apr 18 35,824 659 2,954 120 3,237
Sun Apr 19 36,325 501 3,076 122 ---
Mon Apr 20 37,195 870 3,178 102 ---
Tue Apr 21 38,211 1,016 3,299 121 ---
Wed Apr 22 39,299 1,088 3,430 131 ---
Thu Apr 23 40,139 840 3,531 101 ---
Fri Apr 24 41,073 934 3,641 110 ---
Sat Apr 25 41,539 466 3,752 111 8,342
Sun Apr 26 42,024 485 3,853 101 ---
Mon Apr 27 42,877 853 3,962 109 ---
Tue Apr 28 43,622 745 4,057 95 ---
Wed Apr 29 44,494 872 4,142 85 ---
Thu Apr 30 45,405 911 4,241 99 ---
Fri May 1 46,083 678 4,323 82 ---
Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Sat May 2 46,471 388 4,384 61 15,569
Sun May 3 46,796 325 4,446 62 ---
Mon May 4 47,510 714 4,526 80 ---
Tue May 5 48,107 597 4,584 58 ---
Wed May 6 48,795 688 4,637 53 ---
Thu May 7 49,319 524 4,723 86 ---
Fri May 8 49,854 535 4,778 55 ---
Sat May 9 50,178 324 4,815 37 22,686
Sun May 10 50,446 268 4,857 42 ---
Mon May 11 51,353 907 4,909 52 ---
Tue May 12 52,879 1,526 4,956 47 ---
Wed May 13 53,527 648 4,998 42 ---
Thu May 14 53,938 411 5,042 44 ---
Fri May 15 55,251 1,313 5,086 44 ---
Sat May 16 55,561 310 5,117 31 28,234
Sun May 17 55,767 206 5,155 38 ---
Mon May 18 56,312 545 5,188 33 ---
Tue May 19 56,953 641 5,228 40 ---
Wed May 20 57,393 440 5,269 41 ---
Thu May 21 57,727 334 5,310 41 ---
Fri May 22 58,068 341 5,340 30 ---
Sat May 23 58,244 176 5,367 27 33,168
Sun May 24 58,379 135 5,397 30 ---
Mon May 25 58,545 166 5,433 36 ---
Tue May 26 58,884 339 5,461 28 ---
Wed May 27 59,216 332 5,484 23 ---
Thu May 28 59,476 260 5,511 27 ---
Fri May 29 59,714 238 5,536 25 ---
Sat May 30 59,870 156 5,564 28 38,099
Sun May 31 60,026 156 5,582 18 ---
Mon Jun 1 60,249 223 5,607 25 ---
Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Tue Jun 2 60,460 211 5,626 19 ---
Wed Jun 3 60,639 179 5,642 16 ---
Thu Jun 4 60,804 165 5,665 23 ---
Fri Jun 5 60,984 180 5,677 12 ---
Sat Jun 6 61,116 132 5,691 14 42,041
Sun Jun 7 61,226 110 5,711 20 ---
Mon Jun 8 62,415 268 5,786 16 ---
Tue Jun 9 62,591 176 5,798 12 ---
Wed Jun 10 62,769 178 5,817 19 ---
Thu Jun 11 62,943 174 5,828 11 ---
Fri Jun 12 63,133 190 5,838 10 ---
Sat Jun 13 63,283 150 5,849 11 44,964
Sun Jun 14 63,394 111 5,858 9 ---
Mon Jun 15 63,608 214 5,872 14 ---
Tue Jun 16 63,855 247 5,879 7 ---
Wed Jun 17 64,176 321 5,890 11 ---
Thu Jun 18 64,398 222 5,903 13 ---
Fri Jun 19 64,709 311 5,913 10 ---
Sat Jun 20 64,909 200 5,922 9 49,290
Sun Jun 21 65,149 240 5,930 8 ---
Mon Jun 22 65,570 421 5,944 14 ---
Tue Jun 23 66,043 473 5,954 10 ---
Wed Jun 24 66,518 475 5,961 7 ---
Thu Jun 25 66,971 453 5,968 7 ---
Fri Jun 26 67,398 427 5,973 5 ---
Sat Jun 27 67,722 324 5,985 12 51,099
Sun Jun 28 68,048 326 5,992 7 ---
Mon Jun 29 68,611 563 6,001 9 ---
Tue Jun 30 69,184 573 6,007 6 ---
Wed Jul 1 69,814 630 6,014 7 ---
Thu Jul 2 70,369 555 6,022 8 ---
Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Fri Jul 3 70,830 461 6,031 9 ---
Sat Jul 4 71,152 322 6,040 9 52,841
Sun Jul 5 71,584 432 6,044 4 ---
Mon Jul 6 72,320 736 6,052 8 ---
Tue Jul 7 73,025 705 6,062 10 ---
Wed Jul 8 73,774 749 6,068 6 ---
Thu Jul 9 74,411 637 6,076 8 ---
Fri Jul 10 75,051 640 6,084 8 ---
Sat Jul 11 75,508 457 6,092 8 53,867
Sun Jul 12 75,948 440 6,100 8 ---
Mon Jul 13 76,780 832 6,104 4 ---
Tue Jul 14 77,463 683 6,105 1 ---
Wed Jul 15 78,214 751 6,110 5 ---
Thu Jul 16 78,865 651 6,117 7 ---
Fri Jul 17 79,430 565 6,121 4 ---
Sat Jul 18 79,885 455 6,130 9 55,162
Sun Jul 19 80,262 377 6,133 3 ---
Mon Jul 20 81,021 759 6,141 8 ---
Tue Jul 21 81,702 681 6,145 4 ---
Wed Jul 22 82,463 761 6,157 12 ---
Thu Jul 23 83,116 653 6,162 5 ---
Fri Jul 24 83,739 623 6,168 6 ---
Sat Jul 25 84,204 465 6,171 3 57,502
Sun Jul 26 84,609 405 6,185 14 ---
Mon Jul 27 85,341 732 6,197 12 ---
Tue Jul 28 86,045 704 6,203 6 ---
Wed Jul 29 86,758 713 6,208 5 ---
Thu Jul 30 87,429 671 6,220 12 ---
Fri Jul 31 88,102 673 6,229 9 ---
Sat Aug 1 88,643 541 6,239 10 60,022
Sun Aug 2 89,099 456 6,248 9 ---
Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Mon Aug 3 89,844 745 6,258 10 ---
Tue Aug 4 90,579 735 6,262 4 ---
Wed Aug 5 91,247 668 6,267 5 ---
Thu Aug 6 91,903 656 6,272 5 ---
Fri Aug 7 92,531 628 6,286 14 ---
Sat Aug 8 93,073 542 6,296 10 63,636
Sun Aug 9 93,560 487 6,307 11 ---
Mon Aug 10 94,395 835 6,311 4 ---
Tue Aug 11 95,112 717 6,325 14 ---
Wed Aug 12 95,819 707 6,337 12 ---
Thu Aug 13 96,476 657 6,348 11 ---
Fri Aug 14 97,131 655 6,358 10 ---
Sat Aug 15 97,640 509 6,368 10 67,778
Sun Aug 16 98,073 433 6,377 9 ---
Mon Aug 17 98,811 738 6,388 11 ---
Tue Aug 18 99,470 659 6,397 9 ---
Wed Aug 19 100,087 617 6,412 15 ---
Thu Aug 20 100,714 627 6,425 13 ---
Fri Aug 21 101,348 634 6,431 6 ---
Sat Aug 22 101,860 512 6,437 6 72,580
Sun Aug 23 102,373 513 6,448 11 ---
Mon Aug 24 103,117 744 6,456 8 ---
Tue Aug 25 103,757 640 6,470 14 ---
Wed Aug 26 104,337 580 6,481 11 ---
Thu Aug 27 104,896 559 6,493 12 ---
Fri Aug 28 105,488 592 6,505 12 ---
Sat Aug 29 106,030 542 6,509 4 76,151
Sun Aug 30 106,480 450 6,515 6 ---
Mon Aug 31 107,191 711 6,525 10 ---
Tue Sep 1 107,964 773 6,538 13 ---
Wed Sep 2 108,650 686 6,543 5 ---
Date Cases Change Deaths Change Recovered
Thu Sep 3 109,288 638 6,557 14 ---
Fri Sep 4 109,873 585 6,562 5 ---
Sat Sep 5 110,327 454 6,570 8 80,678
Sun Sep 6 110,741 414 6,579 9 ---
Mon Sep 7 111,217 476 6,584 5 ---
Tue Sep 8 111,925 708 6,590 6 ---
Wed Sep 9 112,631 706 6,595 5 ---
Thu Sep 10 113,223 592 6,601 6 ---
Fri Sep 11 113,868 645 6,608 7 ---
Sat Sep 12 114,354 486 6,613 5 85,513
Sun Sep 13 114,819 465 6,621 8 ---
Mon Sep 14 115,449 630 6,630 9 ---
Tue Sep 15 116,004 555 6,636 6 ---
Wed Sep 16 116,538 534 6,642 6 ---
Thu Sep 17 116,978 440 6,653 11 ---
Fri Sep 18 117,364 386 6,664 11 ---
Sat Sep 19 117,570 206 6,670 6 90,216
Sun Sep 20 117,716 146 6,672 2 ---
Mon Sep 21 117,894 178 6,676 4 ---
Tue Sep 22 117,910 16 6,678 2 ---

Curent Statewide Numbers

Cases 117,910
Deaths 6,678
Recovered 90,216
Recovery Rate 76.51%
Mortality Rate 5.66%

The recovered statistic is only updated once a week and is a count of those who are still alive 30 days afte testing positive.